Delete a Course or Section

The Office of the University Registrar is conducting business by phone & virtually.

Call 530-752-3639, M-F, 10 a.m.-2 p.m (PT)  Order official electronic UC Davis Transcripts  Need help? Contact an Expert  Latest Coronavirus Information

Please allow for extended response times. Thank you for visiting the Office of the University Registrar and for your ongoing patience & understanding during this unprecedented time!

Single Section Course

WARNING: Please use caution when deleting a course. When a course is deleted, ALL section information is removed and the CRN becomes invalid and no longer exists. Deleted section information cannot be retrieved.

  1. Type ZSADEPT in the Direct Access field to access the Schedule Form.
  2. Enter the term code in the Term field.
  3. Enter the CRN to be deleted in the Course Reference Number field.
  4. Press Ctrl+Page Down to move into the section details block.
  5. Be sure that the cursor is in the “Subject” field.
  6. Press Shift+F6—all section information will disappear and the following message “*WARNING* ALL SECTION DATA WILL BE DELETED.”, will appear on the status line.
  7. Press F10 to save your changes—the course is now deleted and the CRN is invalid.
  8. To continue editing other courses use the “Rollback” icon or press Shift+F7, or the “Exit” icon or Ctrl+Q to close the Schedule Form. It is important to remember if you delete a section of a multiple section course other than the last section; the remaining sections must be renumbered so that all sections continue to be consecutively numbered.

Multiple Section Course

When deleting a course, all existing sections must be deleted individually.

WARNING: Please use caution when deleting a course section. When a course section is deleted, ALL section information is removed and the CRN becomes invalid and no longer exists. Deleted section information cannot be retrieved.

  1. Type ZSADEPT in the Direct Access field to access the Schedule Form.
  2. Enter the term code in the Term field.
  3. At the CRN field, enter a search for the CRNs by pressing F9 or select the pull tab to move to the Schedule Section Query Form (SSASECQ). Use this form (or your proof) to query all existing sections of the course. Be sure to write these CRNs down before returning to the Schedule Form since EACH section must be deleted separately.

For EACH existing section:

  1. Enter the CRN into the Course Reference Number field.
  2. Press Ctrl+Page Down to move into the section block.
  3. Be sure that the cursor is in the “Subject” field.
  4. Press Shift+F6—all section information will disappear and the following message “*WARNING* ALL SECTION DATA WILL BE DELETED.” will appear at the bottom of the form.
  5. Commit your changes by pressing F10—the CRN is now invalid.
  6. Proceed with the next section—Press Shift+F7 to Rollback
  7. When you have finished deleting all sections of the course, return to the CRN field. 
  8. Press F9 to access the Schedule Section Query Form (SSASECQ). Verify that no existing sections remain for the course. Your search should retrieve NO records if the course has been correctly deleted.  To close the form, select the Exit icon or press Ctrl+Q.
  9. When you are finished with your session, exit the Schedule form by selecting the “Exit” icon or Ctrl+Q.